We are a direct-to-consumer cooperative of producer and consumer members in the Cedar Rapids/Iowa City area. IVFC is a web-based cooperative where consumers can order products directly from area farmers and other local businesses. IVFC acts as a facilitator, providing a marketplace for all types of local producers, processing orders and payments, and facilitating delivery to consumer members.


Greetings Valued Co-op Member,

Iowa Valley Food Co-op (IVFC) began business 5 years ago with this mission: The purpose of the Iowa Valley Food Co-op is to increase the resiliency of the
local food system in Eastern Iowa by developing the market, increasing the sale, and building the infrastructure for fresh, fairly-priced, sustainably produced food in our local region.

The model that the IVFC used in order to increase the market in Eastern Iowa for local products was to offer fresh, fairly priced, sustainably produced goods directly to consumers via a web-based marketplace.

In the past few years the IVFC has seen a steady decrease in participation by both producers and consumers in our regular distributions (To note - direct to consumer sales have trended down nationally.). These decreases have caused sales to drop to the point where they are no longer sustainable.

The IVFC Board of Directors decided at the October 13, 2016 board meeting to suspend current operations following the November 2, 2016 distribution. For now, our last distribution will be November 2nd – so stock up on all of your favorite goodies!

This decision did not come easily. Your support has contributed greatly to build the local food system in Eastern Iowa, and we give a heartfelt thank you for your support.

The IVFC is continuing to look for opportunities to fulfill our mission. We will be in touch with more information about our equity, options and what the future holds for the IVFC. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns:

Thank you,

Jessica Burtt Fogarty, President
Marcus Johnson, Vice-President
Rebecca Way Bergus, Treasurer
Lea Olson, Secretary
Doug Darrow
Elaine Michaels
Bob Homrich
Sandy Rosenberger